Cedarlane Eggplant Parmesan

egg

My mom RAVES about Eggplant Parmesan. Everytime we go out for Italian, she gets EGGPLANT Parmesan. When eggplants on sale at the store, she frys em up and makes Eggplant Parmesan. I’m not too fond of chicken parm (sorry!) only because i HATE chicken cutlets, and i really don’t like fried food. But, Cedarlane’s Eggplant Parm is slices of baked eggplant, with cheese, lightly roasted vegetables and a sundried tomato sauce. Would this Eggplant Parm live up to the dish my mom RAVES about? Let’s see!

Well, after heating it up in the microwave, the picture on the box certainly does not depict what i had. They show 2 long slices of eggplant with cheese and veggies. What i got (i didn’t have my camera so i couldn’t take a picture of it! Grr!! 😦 ) was about 5 or 6 circular pieces of eggplant all mooshed together with some cheese and scrambled veggies. But I’m not one to judge on looks, so I dug in.
The eggplant was very soft, and “buttery”tasting. There is also a LOT of eggplant, and I didn’t see any breadcrumbs like the ingredients say there are, but perhaps it was just mixed up with all the cheese and veggies. I really liked the “seeded” part of the eggplant-it has a little bit more of a bite and more flavor to it compared to the rest. There definitely is a strong tomato flavor here, probably from the sundried tomato sauce. There also is pa-lenty of cheese in this dish. It was gooey and stringy and it was how cheese is supposed to be 🙂 . I also liked the parmesan cheese flavor that came through with the veggies.
Overall, this dish wasn’t bad. I think it kind of tasted like Ellio’s pizza, which is a frozen pizza i had a lot growing up. I do, however, almost wish that it had less eggplant and they paired the eggplant parmesan with another side dish. It was also a bit too salty for me, but that’s expected with tomato sauce. It is, however, an excellent way to get some vegetables into your day. I would guess at least 3 servings in this meal alone! 🙂 This meal is getting a 3 1/2 star for me, 4 star if you like eggplant parm! I like there other meals i reviewed better. Check them out!

The box has 2 servings, but honestly, who can eat half? 🙂 So here’s the stats for the whole thing.
1 box is 320 calories, 16 grams of fat, 32 carbohydrates, 6 grams of fiber and 14 grams of protein. You also get 30% calcium needs.

Eggplant, Organic Crushed Whole Tomatoes, Organic Tomato Puree, Onion, Rennetless Mozzarella Cheese, Rennetless Ricotta Cheese, Bread Crumbs (wheat flour, water, barley malt, salt), Organic Zucchini, Sundried Tomatoes, Organic green bell Pepper, Rennetless Parmesan Cheese, Organic Red Bell Pepper, Carrots, Wildflower Honey, Olive Oil, Herbs and Spices, Sea Salt.

Check out my Chobani Giveaway!

5 Comments

Filed under 3 Star, Cedarlane

5 responses to “Cedarlane Eggplant Parmesan

  1. I can’t even remember the last time I had eggplant parm – that is NOT okay! It’s one of my favorite italian dishes 🙂

  2. Thanks for the comment! I LOVE eggplant so I will keep my eyes peeled for this.

  3. Meg

    This sounds amazing!

  4. I’ve never seen this brand. Looks amazing.

  5. yumyucky

    Umm, yes. I’ll eat the whole box. And then maybe another.

Leave a Reply

